OCD Apocalypse

Author’s Note: I came up with the idea for this story when I thought to myself “Would I still have OCD if the world ended?” This thought echoed through my head while I played Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas. This is a bit more of solemn peace, it’s meant to be more of an emotional piece.

When the world ended, so did my worries. The day the bombs fell ended so many things and it was on that day that my OCD started to fade away. I no longer had to worry about checking the faucets constantly even when I know they are turned off, because I knew there was no longer any running water anywhere. I no longer had to check the doorknob to the house constantly, because the world no longer had any rules so a person could break in at any moment.

I was no longer worried about getting to sleep at a decent time or fret about staying up late, as work and businesses were practically non-existent now. Life was lost easily in a world like this, yet another worry that no longer mattered. I would wander the wasteland not worrying about anything. Some things still remained a worry, such as clean food and water. In a world that’s teetering on the brink, I felt my mind at peace.

The world had lost its rules, its limitations, but none of its meaning. The world still meant something to me now, because my worries were different now. I shared the same worries as everyone else and because of this I felt more like I fit in. I knew that I didn’t fit in though, I wasn’t the kind of person who would take advantage of a world with different worries, a world with less people and less limitation. It’s a world that takes advantage of the weak, yet even that concept didn’t worry me too much. Few things worry me these days.

Leave a Reply

