Winds Of The King Chapter 3

Chapter 3: The Restless Wind

I wanted to train right away, yet I was way too tired after the events of today. It’s not surprising, considering I just headbutted a tornado and talked to a magic statue. That kind of weirdness could tire anyone out. I found myself both stretching and yawning as my eyelids fluttered up and down uncontrollably. I laid down on my bed as I rested my body against the soft bed-sheets. My eyes slowly closed as I drifted off to sleep. That night, I had very vivid and surreal dreams.

The dream I had was me as a baby in my deceased mother’s arms. Barely a year old, she cradled me in her arms and smiled.  It had been so long since I’ve seen her face, yet in the dream I could remember every fine detail of her appearance. Her warm embrace, her loving smile, all of it was nostalgic in every way. In face, the area surrounding my infant form seemed very familiar too. I felt like I had been here long ago, a very long time ago in fact. Just then, I heard whispering, something my mother couldn’t hear. That’s when I noticed it, a man laying behind the bushes. He didn’t appear to be hiding in wait for an ambush, in fact it looked like he was bleeding! I couldn’t make out his whispers at first, but I somehow managed to make out the words: “Continue where I left off…” After I heard those words, the man behind the bushes collapsed.

I could see his blood stain the grass and leaves around him. I wanted to do something to help, but all I could do was bawl my out like the baby I was! And that’s when I heard a voice, I couldn’t discern who it was though. “Give me the baby!” Shouted the voice, to which my mother responded by screaming for help. She cradled me close to her chest and ran. She ran and ran with the man in pursuit, I could hear her screams as they echoed through my very soul. This person cornered her in a back alley, at which point I got a look at his face. I found myself looking at what appeared to be a man with no face, no identity. He appeared to be floating off the ground and he was baring down on both me and my mother. Before he could attack, I woke up in a panic.

I was sweating profusely, my heart was beating an immense speed, and my fingers were twitching nervously. I was so flustered that I could only mutter one word: “Mother”. That’s the only person who I could think of at the moment. That dream felt so strange, especially with the bizarre circumstances surrounding my mother’s death. All of the witnesses claim to have seen different people chasing after my mother, no one could agree on one assailants. Everyone who was identified as the murderer had alibis and no one could be sure of who exactly did the deed. To this date, the murder of my mother remains one of the mysteries that has been eating away at my soul. What was stranger still was the other man, who I never knew about. Was that man behind the bushes? Was his purpose? I wasn’t too sure, but I had a strange feeling I would find out.

It was at this point I realized something, that the answers I seek may be more than I bargained for. I just wanted to know how I got these powers, yet the deeper I dive the more questions I have. The Jackal, The Stag, Nile, and my mother, these were all pieces in some great puzzle. I wondered what I should do now, I could go outside and train. However, it was the middle of the night and people would get curious. I’d have until morning before I could do any hard training, so I had to rest for now. I threw my head against my pillow and fell back asleep. This time, I wasn’t interrupted by bizarre nightmares or prophetic dreams. I woke up the next morning, stretched, and got up. It was going to be a long day and my goals were clear: Become strong, get answers, and then figure out where to go from there.

I knew none of those goals would be easily achieved, yet I was determined to pave a path for myself. I slowly wormed my way out of bed as I pried my sweaty skin off of my bed-sheets. I wiggled my toes around and took a deep-breath in before exhaling. Afterwards, I prepared for the day ahead. I did my morning stretches and proceeded to jog in place. As I exercised, I noticed my door was ajar. The door slowly opened and I found that my dad was standing there. “Hey, son! I heard you scream last night, anything wrong?” My eyes opened wide, I didn’t remember screaming at all! Then again, I was so flustered that I don’t recall half of what happened. “Well, I did have a bit of a nightmare last night, Dad.” I said with a frown plastered all over my face. My dad furrowed his brow and walked up to me. He proceeded to throw his arm over my shoulder and looked me straight in the eyes. “I can tell you want to talk. What happened in this nightmare?” There was no hiding the nightmare from dad, I would now have to tell him all about it.

I told him all about it, the bizarre events depicted in the dream, the things I had never known about before, all of it. Strangely enough, he seemed to believe it. “Son, the world works in mysterious ways. Perhaps what you saw was less of a dream and more of what may have happened.” I looked at dad in astonishment, he never struck me as the kind of man who would believe in in the supernatural. “What are you saying? Are you saying that all of that actually happened?” Dad nodded. “Son, after the bizarre happening of your mother’s death, I believe in everything. I may not have told you this, but I’ve been watching a lot of supernatural programs for the past months or so.”

My dad watching supernatural programming? Now, that was just bizarre! Despite this, it brought a smile to my face that I had so desperately needed. “Thanks, that cheered me up a bit.” My father patted me on the back and grinned. “That’s what fathers are here for! So… What’s on the itinerary for today?” I shrugged and gave a response. “Not sure, probably just going to go outside. I’ll just go whichever direction the wind takes me.” Dad grinned and reached over, noogying my head in the process. “Alright, just make sure the wind pulls you back here by nightfall!” Exclaimed my father as he stood up and wandered out of the room, leaving me to my own devices.

I sighed as I sat up from my bed, I knew what I had to do. Nile told me to train and get stronger, that was the only way I’d learn about my powers. I came to a realization that I should be happy about the fact that I now had super-powers, yet I was more obsessed with the reason behind this strange new power. I’ve always sweated the details behind everything good I had ever been given. I was always too busy unraveling secrets in order to enjoy what was before me. And even now, I wasn’t too sure of what abilities I did have. All I had done so far was stop a tornado, yet what Nile said made me think I was capable of much more.

I thought about the oddities that surrounded me for a little bit, before deciding to leave. After changing into a grey shirt and some raggedy old sweat-pants, I left the confines of my home in order to look for a proper training ground. Of course, I didn’t want to train anywhere that’s over-populated with people. I wasn’t sure what kind of powers I had, aside from tornado-stopping powers that is. The only place I knew of that would be a suitable place to train would be the section of town that was destroyed when that tornado rolled in. That place was pretty much destroyed and abandoned yesterday, it’s probably the best place to get some solitude in this city.

I strolled down the street towards that area, my feet kicking up dirt and rocks as I happened across the area. Policeman had put up tape around the area, but hadn’t fully quarantined the area. There was still gaps in the tape, enough for me to squeeze through. Hopefully, I wouldn’t be stopped by any policemen in the area. I slipped into the nearly-quarantined area and looked around for a good place to train myself. That’s when I looked over at Pyramid,only to find the store completely gone! In its place stood a new building named “Pyramid Gym”. How bizarre! It was as if the building had transformed over night.

I walked up the building and noticed the slick silver exterior, the shiny well-cleaned windows, and the revolving glass doors. This looked less like a gym and more like a hotel. I walked up to the front of the building and wormed my way into the revolving doors. After working my way through the revolving glass merry-go-round, I made my way into the lobby. The inside of the building was just as nice as the outside! The walls were a bright shade of white and there was exercising equipment everywhere.

I was a little put-off by it all, I felt as though I had just stumbled into some kind of training nirvana. I walked around, noticing that the place was completely empty. “Why, hello again!” I heard a voice say. I turned and saw the golden cat statue from yesterday resting on top of the service desk. “Nile! What’s going on here? What is this building?” The cat snickered. “That’s not important at the moment, what is important is you getting strong. Now, let’s get to work!” I figured Nile wasn’t going to give me answers, much like before. Now was the time to get stronger and get answers. Today was the day I begin my grand evolution, from gust to cyclone.

Leave a Reply

