My Ms. Pac-Man Story

I wanted to share another gaming related story with you guys. I find it fun to talk about stuff that really got me into gaming or gaming-related stories that I find silly. One moment I remember vividly as a child was one where I asked my dad to purchase Namco Museum Vol. 4. My main intention was for him to play part of the game with me. My dad used to play Pac-Man and Ms. Pac-Man was younger, so within my childish reasoning I assumed I could get him to sit down for a game session.

After setting the game and playing it, I started going through all the retro games contained within the collection. Finally, it came time to play Ms. Pac-Man. And guess what? It was the only game in ENTIRE collection that didn’t work. Yes, the whole reason I pestered my dad into getting the game and it didn’t work. No matter how many times I loaded it, no matter how many times I blew the dust off the disc nothing worked. The game would just crash on the title screen every single time. To be fair, everything else in the collection worked fine and played fantastically. It’s just sad that the best game was the only one not to work. I found out later that the PS1 had different iterations and certain older versions of the console just couldn’t play older games. At least, that’s what I was told. It’s a real shame that I never got to play Ms. Pac-Man. To this day, I still haven’t played this iteration of Pac-Man. But hey, maybe sometime in the future my dad and I could play the game on an emulator as a father and son duo and I could experience the magic I missed out on. Now that would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

