My Thoughts On Digimon Adventure Tri

So, recently the newest Digimon Tri film came out. I’ve made it no secret that I’m a huge fan of the series. I’ve been following it since the release of the original anime over 15 years ago. It’s a series about a group of kids (or teenagers depending on the series) getting whisked away to a world filled with monsters made out of data. It’s a popular series that spurred the imagination of many a 90s kids. And the original cast from the first season is now back in a story that acts as a sort of third season to the original group.

Now, I love these films, but I can admit they have a lot of problems. These include: Horrible at times pacing, the occasional bout of awkward animation, lack of explanations, the fact that they just ignore the 02 cast’s existence half the time, or just the fact that six films feels like overkill. Seriously, you can skip 90% of the second film, since most of it feels fairly superfluous.

I love that I get to see the original like Matt and Tai again, but at the same time I’m a bit annoyed that the dub is taking so long to get released. I get that it takes time to dub this stuff, but a year seems like overkill for a single film. Regardless, I still think the films are pretty good. They have good character development, some pretty good animation at times, and a new art-style that really meshes well with the darker undertones the series is trying to present.

Couple this with an amazing nostalgic soundtrack, some interesting new characters, and some pretty sweet action sequences, and you’ve got a series of animated films that are a sight to behold. While the positive do outweigh the negatives, I feel like these newer films are going to alienate those who have never seen the show. Especially when obscure or lesser known concepts and characters like Homeostasis and Gennai show up. I feel that this is a film series that will appeal mostly to the fans, which is okay with me. I love the films thus far and am looking forward to the English dub. Anyways, that’s just my personal thoughts on the film. I’d like to hear your guys’ personal thoughts, so feel free to leave them in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

