Indie Games Vs. Big Budget Titles

When it comes to video-games, I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur. I’ll play tons of games, from all kinds of different publishers or developers. That being said, I’ll often stray away from Triple-A developers. These are often the big companies who will churn our games with the production value of a big budget film. I can’t really play these games nowadays, because I feel that these games often put the game-play second to the presentation of said game.

That’s why I find myself indulging more in Indie games. These are games that you can often get for dirt cheap (sometimes a few bucks) that have much more fun game-play than the big name stuff. I’m not saying that the big name developers only put out crap games, but the quality of said games has diminished greatly. Compared to the early 2000s, it’s hard to find games that really feel “special” or “unique”.

Thankfully, Indie games fill that niche very nicely. You have Indie games of all times, be it shooters or RPGs. These are usually made by people trying to break into the industry, so they put a lot of time and effort into what is a low budget project. Despite these games not having a lot of financial backing behind them, they still have a lot of heart put into them. Indie devs aren’t forced to make their games the way big corporations want, so they have the freedom to put whatever it is they want in their game.

A good example of this Avernum, which is a crazy good game. It’s a game with such a unique setting, where you are tossed into an underground fantasy world and forced to survive. You are an exile that wanders this decrepit underground maze, coming across villages, and attempting to make your way to the surface once more. Sadly, few big name fantasy games have this unique of a setting.

chroma-squad-01
This is also a good one.

I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t some awesome Triple-A games that came out last year. I loved Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth, Dragon Ball Fusions, Odin Sphere Leifthrasir, etc. Regardless, I find Indie games to just be superior. Indie games have their problems too, I won’t deny that. At the end of the day though, you’re not gambling as much money away on an Indie project, at least not as much as you would on a game at the story. What’s better: 3 bucks for a game you know little about, or 60 bucks for a game that will most likely be not worth it’s steep price-tag?

I think a person is free to choose whatever game it is that they want. Regardless, I feel that the big-budget games are just not worth all the cash people pay for them. I guess that’s why I usually only buy these games when they are on sale. Whether it’s big budget or Indie, I think there’s room for both of them. I don’t judge people who buy the super “powerful” and “super awesome” new titles that Bioware or Bethesda comes out with. I just have this strange literal value dissonance when it comes to Indie games and the fancy schmancy Triple-A games. I guess that’s just me. Still, I prefer buying 4-6 cheap Indie games that I know will be awesome, as opposed to purchasing “Gears of War 23: We Promise We Added New Stuff This Time”.

Leave a Reply

