The Return of Cartoon Network’s FusionFall

I’ve made it no secret that I love cartoons! Despite not growing up with Cartoon Network, I grew up with all the various shows that the channel created.  I’m talking Cow & Chicken, Sheep In The Big City, Ben 10, Samurai Jack, and many others. For some reason or another, I was never super interested in a particular game that managed to merge all these universes together: Cartoon Network’s FusionFall.

This is an MMORPG that focused on delivering anime-styled versions of your favorite CN characters, and also putting you into the shoes of your own custom character. Combine this with simple, yet entertaining gameplay and you have a truly solid experience. Sadly, the game was shut down back in 2011.

However, in recent years their has been an attempt to bring it back with “FusionFall Legacy” and “FusionFall Retro”. Retro is the original client for the game, re-purposed to be playable on a private server. This allows people who have never played the original, or those who want to play it again, to be able to experience it again. Meanwhile, Legacy is meant to be an enhanced version with a ton of new improvements and features.

Retro itself is actually coming out tonight… Supposedly. It’s action past midnight where I am and the server still hasn’t opened. This doesn’t bother me that much, since I have yet to actually touch the game. I’d be willing to wait months, as long as I finally get to play this game.

Unfortunately, not everyone has the same mindset. The FusionFall forum is in “maintenance mode”, right on the Eve of the server’s release. I’m not sure why this is, though it could be because of the rabid nature of the fan-base demanding the release right away. I’m not saying all the fandom is like that, but several of the comments I’ve read on that forum tell me that a lot of these individuals are a little too hyped over this server. Then again, the forum itself could just be having issues.

It’s okay to be excited, but I think some of the more hardcore fans need to lay off the guys making the server. After all, it’s a difficult and arduous task to make a private server run again, especially for free. Regardless, I’m still looking forward to eventually playing this game. I hope to see you all there!

Leave a Reply

